Awards

Golden Women's Resource Centre Starlight Soiree "2014 Best of the Best Restaurant Food Challenge Winners"
Four time winner!!


Golden Women's Resource Centre Starlight Soiree "2013 Best of the Best Restaurant Food Challenge Winners"
Three time winner!!


Golden Women's Resource Centre Starlight Soiree "2011 Best of the Best Restaurant Food Challenge Winners"
Two years running!!

Gold Award Winners
- Kootenay Business Magazine "2011 Overall Favorite Restaurant - Columbia Valley" (page 26)



Kicking Horse Culture - Golden District Arts Council  "2011 Season Hero"

Kicking Horse Country Chamber of Commerce Business Excellence "2010 Business Beautification Award"
 
Golden Women's Resource Centre Starlight Soiree "2010 Best of the Best Restaurant Food Challenge Winners"
Trip Advisor Reviews
Jim S - Kelowna, Canada - Trip Advisor - November 17, 2013
“Great spot”

As we passed though Golden, BC on a drive from Calgary to Kelowna in November we were looking for something a little better than fast food for supper. Well we found something MUCH better! The Island Restaurant is less than 5 min off the highway and well worth the drive. It has a great atmosphere and a menu to match with a full gluten free menu as well for those that prefer gluten free. Petra served us that evening and she was great. The food came faster than we had expected and if my wife had not ordered the Rosehip Creme Brulee for dessert (which she says was awesome) we could have been back on the road in 35 minutes from the time we arrived. As it was, we were back on the road in under 50 min. Apparently creme brulee is something to be savoured.

Jocelyn G - Golden, British Columbia, Canada - Trip Advisor - November 16, 2013
“Always delicious!!!”

I had the Veggie Eggs Benedict. Seriously the best hollandaise sauce I've ever had (and I'm a huge Eggs Benny fan). The rosti potato served with it is perfectly done and the fruit cup adds just the right balance. Super friendly staff and cozy atmosphere, by far my favourite restaurant in Golden.

wickedwine - Calgary, Canada - Trip Advisor - November 15, 2013
“Golden Gem!”

Some of the best eggs benny we've ever had. My husband had the classic and I had the vegetarian with ripe avocados and some of the tastiest Hollandaise around. We shared a giant bowl of their tortilla soup which was rich,savoury, very spicy and clearly made with love. It was perfect! Coffee was delicious and fresh. Room was eclectic and comfortable for brunch, but stylish enough for a romantic night out. I would love to spend an evening wining and dining there. Service was excellent. Attentive and kind, but not obstrusive. It's a very welcoming place. Would highly recommend it. We will be back. We've found a favourite Golden Haunt.

minordeity - Fredricton, Canada - Trip Advisor - November 12, 2013
“The Island at Golden”

My wife was lucky enough to be sent to Lake Louise for a conference. Such a beautiful place, I was going with her! For three days I hiked around the lake, thoroughly enjoying the sights and sounds!

We took time after the conference to do some vacationing - a trip I have wanted to do for a number of years was the run down the Columbia River Valley. So, off we went!

We stopped at the Visitor Center in Golden and asked where was a good place for breakfast, and the primary suggestion was The Island Restaurant. So, we went... Good choice, very good choice!

We had arrived at about 11:00, and were quite hungry! The decor of the place was rustic, just a wonderful place to sit for breakfast! I ordered the salmon eggs benedict, I forget what my wife ordered - but it came with a wonderful homemade jam on the toast - apparently their chef makes the jam fresh from scratch! My eggs were fantastic, and my wife loved her breakfast - certainly one of the best benedicts I have ever had! The waitress (I wish I could remember her name!!!) was great! She was right there when we wanted her, she was witty, interesting, and friendly (with all the customers!) and she certainly went beyond what was expected! We thought there was a glitch when she approached our table shortly after ordering - but no, the food was ready!!! So, the service is fast as well!!! We had a great conversation in which she (the waitress) recounted how she came to Golden for a visit and had been there ever since, while I explained what we were doing there... And, to our great delight she was willing to let us have a small quantity of that delicious jam to bring home - we now use it very sparingly, and it won't last long, but it is the best jam I have ever had!!!

I would highly recommend visiting The Island Restaurant - if I ever get with 100kms of Golden again I will make a specific detour to eat at this restaurant again!!! My wife concurs!

usalways14 - Bassano, Canada - Trip Advisor - November 7, 2013
“dinner and breakfast were just amazing!”

We stopped here for dinner during the thanksgiving weekend, it was a busy weekend In Golden so we thought it would be crazy. No way we got seated right away and the atmosphere is just fantastic.The service is wonderful, fast and friendly. Food, well simply amazing! We decided to stop back the next morning for brunch, I was blown away at how good it was. Thank you for taking such pride in your restaurant, we love you!

Laurel W - St. Catherines, Canada - Trip Advisor - October 29, 2013
“Out of this world breakfast”

My husband, son and I stopped in for breakfast and had the salmon and eggs Benedict which was fantastic. Everything was extremely fresh and I'm sure that's not an easy thing in the middle of October in the mountains. The service was friendly and helpful and they were a great help learning about the area. I loved the log cabin atmosphere.

coach4 - Calgary, Alberta, Canada - Trip Advisor - October 17, 2013
“Get Off the Highway and Visit The Island”

Often on a road trip we just grab a bite at something on the highway. This time we stopped for lunch at the Island Restaurant and I am sure glad we did. The food was very good and the service delightful. We ate outside on the upper deck but you could see that they had a very nice dining room and their evening menu looked intriguing. Next time we are in Golden we will have to check it out.

Doug W- Calgary, Alberta, Canada - Trip Advisor - October 15, 2013
“Great night at The Island Restaurant”

I would like to thank the entire staff @ The Island Restaurant in Golden, BC. I had a group of 36 people I Golden for a golf event and we needed to find a place for supper for a large group. Petra set us up with our own private deck for a buffet and even set up a flat screen TV for us to run a slide show. The food was outstanding and the view was as good as it gets( river and mountain views, it doesn't get better than that.) The staff were polite, courteous and funny. We would go back to this place for sure.

Thanks, Doug Whitten, Calgary, Ab.

alohaboulder - Boulder, Colorado - Trip Advisor - September 22, 2013
“Great place for lunch”

Excellent burger and chicken sandwiches and salads. Casual and relaxing setting. Right by the river.

happytraveller511 - Cobble Hill, Canada - Trip Advisor - September 21, 2013
“Wonderful service and food!”

This restaurant was a delightful surprise! The menu is interesting and the food is FABULOUS! I had the fish tacos and they were the best I have ever had anywhere - really wonderful flavour. My friend had the pulled pork enchiladas and loved them. The black beans that accompanied both of our meals were really, really tasty! Our waitress was a gem - very warm, well informed about the menu and very efficient! We would definitely return when going through Golden. What a great find!! HIGHLY recommended!!

gilkin - derby - Trip Advisor - September 17, 2013
“good food ,for the area”

To be honest the standard of food served in Golden is not of a high standard , but The Island does try to excel itself a little more than the other eating establishments. We were a party of four ,all choosing different meals, the three others in the party all enjoyed their meals, I had steak garnished with a teaspoon of mushrooms & onions on a ciabatta bread ,with fries . Although the dish was cooked to perfection ,it didn't rock my boat ..would have enjoyed it the British way ,Steak, chips, peas ,mushrooms & a grilled tomato. The waitress who I was told was the owner was very polite & attentive ,I would recommend this as the best restaurant I visited whilst staying in Golden.

Sara22534 - Banff, Alberta, Canada - Trip Advisor - September 16, 2013
“Lovely Restaurant and delicious food”

I visited The Island Restaurant twice during my stay in Golden while visiting my daughter, and i was taken by the ambiance of this beautiful restaurant. The log style building with the antique furniture is very warming and welcoming. The food was simply delicious. The presentation was lovely each mean I received. But most importantly, you can tell the food is make from scratch. The Eggs benedict was the best i've ever had. We also had the platter and caramel salmon which were both delicious and flavourful. And last but not least, the staff were so friendly and personable. I would recommend this restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner. It was delightful experience.

Brigitte L - Calgary, Alberta, Canada - Trip Advisor - September 12, 2013
“Perfect end to a vacation”

Lovely log building inside and out.
Terrace overlooking the Kicking Horse River. See the trains go by.
Wonderful ladies serving.
Simple but well prepared food.
My husband had the lamb meatballs and I had the quesadilla with salad. The whole thing was very tasty and served with a smile and a nice word.
Price was right.
I would go back if it was not so far away from home!

islandjule - chagrin falls - Trip Advisor - September 3, 2013
“Enjoyable dinner in Golden”

Went here for dinner on the advice of our innkeeper. We had just come off the trail & looked like a scraggly bunch. We did not have reservations. From the rustic exterior, we expected the Island to be a casual spot. We were a little dismayed to open the door and fine dining establishment. The hostess was gracious and immediately offered seating on the first floor near a window.Perfect. Salads were outstanding & unusual. Flatbread pizzas delish. Entrees impressive. Would recommend.

maryannegreatrix - Barrie, Canada - Trip Advisor - September 3, 2013
“Best fish with "Tasmanian spice”

The Island certainly has the best outdoor scenery wrapped up. A lovely patio on the river and then all you have to do is look up....the Rocky mountains are spectacular. I ordered the daily special of Halibut and it arrived with a side of fresh from the garden vegetables and very tasty rice. The spice on the fish was absolutely the best I have ever tasted so I asked our waiter, who told me he has the spice blend sent in from Tasmania (his home Country). I think they should order it by the case and sell it to diners!

DavidGunn1 - Edmonton, Canada - Trip Advisor - September 3, 2013
“Very Enjoyable Oasis”

The Island Restaurant is exactly that. Located on an Island by the Kicking Horse River, this restaurant consists of an attractive, log cabin serving gourment meals.
We found the location attractive and the staff very helpful and friendly. We had a very good, reasonably priced meal and would recommend the restaurant for a good basic or high end meal.
We caution that you should get a reservation as it seems to be very popular and you may have trouble parking although there is a frre municipal parking lot nearby.

J0seiT - Unity, Canada - Trip Advisor - September 2, 2013
“Aussie Burger = Heaven!!”

Off the chart flavour in this homemade burger. Salad greens were impeccably fresh - how DO they make those funky raw carrot and beet spirals? Server didn't even blink when I asked for this burger sans bun. They have lovely gluten free choices on the menu, but I just had to try this dish and was not disappointed. Aged cheddar, smoky bacon, and the crowning glory was the fried egg, perfectly cooked with a slightly soft yolk that flavoured the rest of the burger. My complements to the chef - who was not afraid to use some salt. This was one of the most flavourful and satisfying meals I have ever had. I would love to return and explore more on the menu - very intriguing & some hints of exotic, but enough familiar foods to keep my kiddos happy as well. p.s. the fries come from POTATOES - not the deep freeze!!

Jonnylen - Trip Advisor - September 1, 2013
“It's in the middle of a beautiful place that serves beautiful food by beautiful people”

The island is a restaurant that only uses fresh local produce from either the local market or in its very own back yard. If you want fresh local food the island is the place to go.

LMDevet - Lynden Ontario Canada - Trip Advisor - August 29, 2013
“With Friends in Golden”

Had 2 dinners at the Island Restaurant and both were great. There were 7 of us at dinner each night and most had something different each night. Everyone enjoyed what they ordered. 2nd night a few of us ate off the Mexican Menu and it was great too. Desserts were awsome - Rosehip Creme Bruless to die for! And my kids shared the Chocolatissimo and devoured it. We sat out on the upstairs patio both nights. Great service. Would go back but we live in Ontario!

CarlyEM - Trip Advisor - August 28, 2013
“Beni Amazing!!!”

An amazing breakfast, the best Smoked Salmon Benedict I have ever had the honor of tasting. Beautiful fresh eggs, delicate pink salmon, smothered in the absolute best hollandaise. A definite must. Only wish we could have tried their lunch & supper menus.

Shred T - Trip Advisor - August 24, 2013
“Best hollandaise sauce EVER”

if you ever need to get your benny fix.. get to the island for the their eggs benny's and homeade hollandaise sauce... these guys really put some pride into their job and it goes to show... flavourful food, awesome patio and great people... a must stop spot on anyones trip.. food is to die for

Connie B - Golden, British Columbia, Canada - Trip Advisor - August 22, 2013
“Amazing evening in Golden”

We attended the Parson Jazz event at the Island Restaurant in August. The entertainment was superb - only made BETTER by the great martini specials, tasty food and EXCELLENT service. The riverside deck is so beautiful and comfortable. The Island Restaurant attests to our motto - our backyard is better than your vacation!!
Gord and Connie

Ryan M - Dawson Creek, Canada - Trip Advisor - August 14, 2013
“Good beer, good food”

My wife and I stopped here after a long day of hiking. I had some really good local beer on tap and a quesadilla meal that was unique and absolutely delicious. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Carolynwarner44 - Bieseker Canada - Trip Advisor - August 13, 2013
“Definitely a Must Stop Restaurant!!!”

The staff at "The Island Restaurant" were more than hospitable, the ambience was in a very beautiful rustic Log House setting. The food was beyond comparable, hot, delicious, cooked to perfection. We had the starter of Crab cakes, excellent taste and the sauce was very tasty as well. I had the Black Pepper Linguini, to die for. If you have never tried this restaurant, you will have missed out on one of the best places to dine!!

Foodys_digest - Trip Advisor - August 10, 2013
“Best meal I've ever had”

To start off my husband and I ordered each cocoanut prawns they were out of this world after I ordered the caramel salmon it was perfectly Cooked and we'll porchined my husband ordered the angus strip loin he said that the made it perfectly medium rear, for dezert we had both the creme brueles who ever made those were very talented the sugar on top was like the icing on the cake, so perfect plus I even saw the young gentle man pic the mint of the plant !

Hvanvliet - Trip Advisor - August 9, 2013
“Delicious food in a nice location”

We stopped in during a road trip with our three kids and ate on the patio which looks onto the river. The building is beautiful- log cabin style with antiques. The patio could use more shade but we managed to get some. Food was delicious! It is pricier than fast food, but not exorbitant.

calagirl - Edmonton, Alberta - Trip Advisor - August 8, 2013
“Great Birthday!”

We were celebrating a birthday on our bike trip and decided to try this restaurant for our one night in Golden. We were sure glad we did. Our server was fantastic, great wine selection and wonderful food! And to top it off, they brought our friend dessert, a hat and "decorated" him with sparkly garland. What a great night! I highly recommend it

LeonardNemoy - Calgary, Canada - Trip Advisor - August 8, 2013
“Wicked Food Wicked Service”

I have been to the Island twice now for breakfast, and both times were delectable. The ingredients used are so fresh and aromatic that you don't feel like you are eating out and getting a 'deep fried' experience. The Quinoa toast that is served with the berry jam is such a treat and so good, not to mention all of the fresh herbs and spices that are incorporated into every single item. The servers are super cute and friendly and make your experience personable and memorable. If you are passing through Golden in the near future, do yourself a favour and stop in for a bite to eat at this place. You won't be dissappointed.

Chris S - Mississauga, Canada - Trip Advisor - August 8, 2013
“Awesome place to dine”

The staff, from the hostess to the servers are very welcoming and make your dining experience enjoyable. The servers take the time to review the specials or answer any questions you may have regarding dishes on the menu.
The scenery is breath taking and providing outside seating makes your visit more enjoyable and relaxing.
The presentation of the food makes it more delectable. The prices are quite reasonable.
My compliments to the head chef and his kitchen staff.

Sam S - Prince George, Canada - Trip Advisor - August 7, 2013
“Great food at a fare price”

We had dinner here and everything was great. Service was fine and I thought the price wasn't too out there for a place like this. Try the appy platter!

Scottie4756 - Sylvan Lake, Canada - Trip Advisor - August 5, 2013
“Buffolo Gheshneltzer”

Aug 5th .....Hope I spelled it correctly. ! absolutely delicious. I am not a meat eater but could easily convert to Buffalo. Hubby had Short Ribs.....soooo tender. Great service .Dorothy & Murray Craigmile , Sylvan Lake , Ab

Dogtooth1947 - Quesnel Canada - Trip Advisor - August 2, 2013
“Best creme brulee in the world”

In my last review I mentioned the rose hip creme brulee. Even better this time. Great chef, great people. Little practice needed on some cocktails. Had a good time with friends. Got Aarons secret for the creme brulee. Thanks man I enjoyed our talks.

Jim K - Edmonton, Alberta - Trip Advisor - August 1, 2013
“Solid restaurant”

This restaurant is basically on an island in Golden. The food is largely comfort food. We ate there on Mexican night and, compared to Austin, TX where we lived for 25 years, the food was solid. They had a homemade hot sauce that was actually hot - something rare in Canada. The margarita was not so good, but the beers were excellent.

Brett P - Calgary, Alberta - Trip Advisor - July 29, 2013
“Best meal out in Golden”

We ate at the Island Resteraunt on the last day of our Golden vacation. My family arrived just at open and we were able to have a nice lunch on the patio. This was well worth it as we were able to overlook the Kickinghorse River and listen to the peaceful water as we ate.

The service was great as the waitress was able to special order a kids meal pizza for our little girl. She also was aware of her nut allergy and assured us that the food would be specially prepared as the kitchen had a procedure for allergies!

The burger and chicken sandwiches were awesome.

To me this is a great little rustic resteraunt. A true gem hidden on the island in Golden.

fussybob - Lethbridge, Canada - Trip Advisor - July 23, 2013
“Nice addition to Golden”

This 3 1/2 year old eatery is a welcome addition to the Golden dining scene, especially after the demise of the Kicking Horse Grill. The 8 oz Caramelized Halibut (27) is a serious piece of fish, served with basmati rice and stir-fried Asian veg. Quite good, but this cooking method does leave the fish a tad dry. The pie made with home-grown crabapples (7) was also quite good. To find The Island, go south across the river bridge - it's immediately on the right. Park in the rear or a bit south of the building, then enjoy the deck on the 2nd floor.

Linns33 - Edmonton, AB - Trip Advisor - July 20, 2013
“Great food in a great town”

After years of driving by, we finally stopped here for dinner. We have enjoyed meals in Golden at Cedar House and Eleven22 in the past and this was just as superb. The Duck Salad was excellent. Great hamburgers. Kid friendly and great wine list.

Chefmarko1 - Trip Advisor - July 19, 2013
“Fresh, homemade spectacular food!”

I've had the opportunity to eat at Island Restaurant several times and have always been impressed. The bread and pasta is as fresh as can be(you can smell it baking). As a Chef of 13 years I appreciate the safistication of the menu with options for every pallet.
The Monday and Tuesday Mexican feature menu is fantastic! The braised and Duck salad are perfect for men and women on the beautiful rooftop patio.
The service has always been welcoming and sincere, making you feel at home.
I would recommend the Island restaurant to anyone for breakfast, lunch or dinner to corporate events or weddings. Top notch!

heatmcle - Guelph, Canada - Trip Advisor - July 13, 2013
“Excellent gluten free menu available”

This restaurant was adorable with a lovely patio overlooking the river. My friend very much enjoyed her pizza and salad, and I had a club sandwich on very tasty gluten free bread. They also had gluten free past, tortillas, and wraps for all those celiacs craving carbs.

Emilymoore51 - Woodstock, Ontario, Canada - Trip Advisor - July 10, 2013
“Great Patio & Food”

After our rafting trip we wanted a nice place with a patio and great food! The Glacier Raft Company recommended this place and we were so glad we came! I had the Falafel Wrap and my girlfriend had the Buffalo Burger I think- Great dishes! Local run and operated with a great staff and fantastic food made right in house! Definitely check it out!

Jaqi3 - Wellington, New Zealand - Trip Advisor - July 8, 2013
“Isles Delight”

We liked the position, being on an island was prime
Restaurant was spacious & dining placement options were varied (in-outside). However we were saddened by lack of dietary variety.

Jacquie T - Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada - Trip Advisor - July 7, 2013
“Fabulous riverside restaurant”

A great place to stop and enjoy the view and a meal. We had a wonderful breakfast at a good price with a spectacular view.

Breejay84 - Trip Advisor - July 3, 2013
“Great!”

Food is fantastic. Service is wonderful, atmosphere is great also. Wonderful waitress. Go here! It's amazing! We should have gone back the next night!

VikW - Trip Advisor -
July 3, 2013
“I look forward to our next visit.”
Found this gem thanks to everyone's previous ratings ( thank you ). They have a good Gluten Free menu and like everyone else said before, the service is great & the food is fresh & fast. A great stop on our way home.

Nancy G - Saint Louis, Missouri - Trip Advisor -
July 1, 2013
“Different Menu, Great Food & Serivce”

Unique menu offerings, like bison-milk cheese quesadillas, and falafel. The house salad was really good--topped with julienne beets and carrots. The squash soup was lovely. A good restaurant for the healthier side, great atmosphere.

Netanya - NetanyaNetanya
Trip Advisor - June 20, 2013
“Cute and Charming”
There aren't many restaurants un Golden but this was quite nice with good food. We had a very good waitress that helped us a lot, all the service was fast fast and polite. The food was OK. The seating (chairs) were very comfort.

terrill- Fort Saskatchewan, Canada - Trip Advisor -
June 15, 2013
“Awesome Food”
We only stayed in Golden, B.C. one night and decide to treat ourselves to a Fancy Restaurant and chose "The Island", which is a beautiful log style building over looking the river. There is a wonderful second story patio, which you can eat on! We decided to eat inside because it was rather cool out. The inside is also beautifully decorated with antique tables and comfortable chairs. The service was super and both of our meals were wonderful. At one point a young couple came in with a little one (9 months old) and was seated right next to us. Our fears of our meal being disturb by the baby, were soon dispelled because of the very attentive young Mom! Unfortunately, it was the male person she was with, that cause us discomfort. As he was on his cel phone our entire meal, talking quite loudly about his construction companies business! We both felt he was extremely inconsiderate of the people around him trying to have a nice quite meal. This was no fault of the restaurant! People if you have to talk on your cel, please remove yourself from the restaurant, talk quietly or leave your call until later! When we left I complimented the young lady on her "Extremely cute and well behaved little one"! I'm positive our experience with the 30 minute cel phone conversation is not a usual problem and would definitely go back for the Exquisite food and Service

dvs55 - Surrey - Trip Advisor -
May 30, 2013
“A surprise in Golden”
Passing through Golden on our way East and were looking for somewhere to eat supper. This little place looked interesting so we thought we'd give it a try. Had a very pleasant experience and a great meal. Would definitely recommend.

Travis11 - Vancouver Island, Canada -
Trip Advisor - May 30, 2013
“Great Service”
While staying at a B&B in Golden, we decided on "The Island" Restaurant, housed in a log cabin.
The menu had a nice variety of foods, and the service was wonderful. Certainly a place to return to.

David F - Toronto, Canada
Trip Advisor -
May 13, 2013
“Good Times in Golder”
We were passing through Golden on a cross Canada trip and found The Island through Trip Advisor. The weather was warm so we decided to eat on the patio. The location was very scenic and the patio was a great choice. It happened to be Mexican special night so we ordered the fish tacos and the enchiladas. They were well prepared and well proportioned. The service was prompt and friendly. Overall, we had great food in a great setting. The only negative was we asked for additional guacamole and sour cream and were charged extra which I thought was a bit cheap. If you are in Golden, highly recommended.

S G - Toronto, Canada Trip Advisor -
May 10, 2013
“Food was delicious and good ambiance”
I was in Golden on business and discovered this restaurant online. They were able to accommodate me without a reservation but were still pleasantly busy. However, it was still early in the season so this might not always be the case so best to call for a reservation! I had the Salmon and the chef was kind enough to accommodate dietary restrictions. It was delicious! Great patio to enjoy when the weather is nice. The manager was super friendly and helpful as were the servers. . Atmosphere is more casual than formal. I will go back next time I am in Golden!

TheVeggieNomad - Calgary, Canada Trip Advisor -
May 4, 2013
“Gluten free menu”
Food was good here, they have items that are both vegetarian and gluten free. Patio is nice when it is warm and the service is quick and friendly.

Rob W - Chestermere, Canada Trip Advisor -
April 29, 2013
“Great food and great people”
We travel through Golden twice a year and always make a point of stopping by for either dinner, lunch or breakfast. Every time we have been greeted with a smile and the food has been great. I would recommend it to everyone that is passing through.

Janice115 - Kelowna, Canada Trip Advisor -
April 28, 2013
“Great find in Golden”
Very nice setting and decor. The service was friendly and I would recommend the Island Pizza and the Quesadillas with their homemade guacamole.

ChrisandMo - Okotoks, Canada Trip Advisor - April 17, 2013
“A little gem on the Island”
We have visited Kickinghorse Resort on numerous occasions but never made it to this restaurant. Travelling back from Western BC on Thanksgiving meant that all the fast food stops were full so we called in at The Island, and wow, great food at a reasonable price and a sense of relaxation. No more fast food on our Trans Canada trips for us. Whether you are stopping in the area or looking for a quality pit stop you cant go wrong with The Island.

Debra L
- Calgary, Canada - Trip Advisor -
April 15, 2013
“A special place for a special birthday!”
We recently took a trip to Golden BC, a quaint little town in the valley of the Rocky mountains and the Purcell mountains. We were looking for a special restaurant to have my mom's 70th birthday and we found the perfect place called The Island Restaurant located on Gould's Island in the middle of Golden. It has spectacular views and sits on the bank overlooking the Kicking Horse River. From the moment we arrived we were very impressed. As we walked into the beautiful log building we were greeted by a very friendly hostess who made us feel so welcome. After our orders were taken we were served delicious home-made bread to enjoy until the food arrived.There were 6 of us dining and we all chose a different meal so to say the least we covered a good portion of the menu and of course we had to share bites so we could all experience the taste of everyone's dishes. From Buffalo burgers to pasta to steak, nobody was disappointed with their menu choice. I had the short ribs and they were so tender they melted in my mouth. After our dinner we enjoyed 2 delicious pieces of chocolate cake surrounded by tasty little home-made cookies from the chef in honor of the birthday girl! Our waitress was the best, she was so friendly and happy it made the whole experience a big '10' for us. I can't say enough about the wonderful experience we had at dinner that night, it is definitely one of our new favorites!

ediebSyracuse
Trip Advisor -
April 11, 2013
“Good Mexican Night!”
I had read about this restaurant on Trip Advisor. I knew they had a Mexican night, so we waited until Monday to eat here. As Mexican goes, it was quite good for where we were at. Do not remember what we had, but we were not disappointed. The margarita special was very good. I would definately recommend this restaurant and would return if we were ever in Golden again.

CanadianCycleTravelTrip Advisor - April 11, 2013
“Lovely Setting”
Whether enjoying breakfast, lunch or dinner the Island is sure to please. Their menu offers refreshing tastes sure to exceed expectations. Daily Specials, Mexican Mondays and Fish and Chip Fridays you can't go wrong. The breads are made fresh, the soups are to die for and the simple house salad blew me away (love those curly beets). The cozy cabin atmosphere is both comfortable and inviting whether dining as a family or couple this place is most accommodating.

WinstonLodge - Trip Advisor - April 5, 2013
“Excellet food, Exceptional Service”
The food is good, the selection is wonderful, and the service was friendly. They have an awesome location, outside patio, and great views. It is, however, a little pricey, considering the other options available in the community. Still, a worthy place to have a nice meal with a great atmosphere.

June V - Trip Advisor - April 5, 2013
“Great chowder”
Stopped for lunch while on walking tour or Golden B.C. Great homemade chowder, fish and chips. Going back for dinner. Great service from Rick.

DiscoStu2
Trip Advisor - April 5, 2013
“Nice, Cosy, natural wood setting with friendly servers and excellent home cooked food”
As a golden local this is one of my preferred restaurants in town with rustic homemade meals. The lamb burger as well as eggs Benny with homemade hollandaise sauce rank among my favorites.

Always a great experience and I'm looking forward to summer patio season sitting out having a beer by the river.

Apple30in Trip Advisor - March 29, 2013
“Very Relaxing”
Excellent Atmosphere, Location & Service. Price is pretty reasonable and Food is just good. The quantity of food was also very good and overall a very good stop by on our way to Kelowna.

Spoodgeman - Chelmsford, Massachusetts - Trip Advisor - March 19, 2013
“Great night with the boys at the Island”

Really good place. Interesting menu options. The 3 of us got the lamb burgers and they were awesome with blue cheese and bacon. Ton o flavor. The tomatillo soup was spectacular. They are great at combining foods to gain more intense flavors.
Really enjoyed the 2 ladies who worked there. Very decent people and they made the night more fun. Maybe a few years but will be back


Robyn - Urbanspoon - March 17, 2013

Very tasty food a little on the expensive side. Excellent service!

Mark1960_12 - Golden, British Columbia, Canada - Trip Advisor - March 11, 2013
“A must to eat here if you are staying of live here”

Excellent for a family or just a couple. Great food, great service, great views. You could spend sometime look at all the bits an pieces hanging off the wall. One of the best patios in town during the summer overlooking the Kicking Horse River. Enjoy.

Varun P - Calgary, Alberta, Canada - Trip Advisor - March 6, 2013
“Good food”
Tried their fusion food. The lentils were pretty nice. The pasta was just average. Service was great. Lindsay W - Ottawa, Ontario, Canada - Trip Advisor - February 26, 2013 “Nice Spot” The location was easy to spot and we got a table quickly. The menu was fairly average and prices were a bit high. The restaurant was nicely decorated but it was a bit noisy and busy.

BigSkiers - Ottawa - Trip Advisor - February 18, 2013
“Gem of a restaurant”

Great food, great value, great atmosphere. We had the special, the curried calamari and the vegetarian curry. All were excellent as was the service.

Arun M - Red Deer, Alberta, Canada - Trip Advisor - February 15, 2013
“Creative menu selection”

The menu had unique selections along with daily specials. The ingredients were fresh and the dishes were tasty and filling. The service was uninstusive and friendly. The beer and wine selections were enjoyable. The rustic atmosphere was relaxed yet intimate.

Tulak - Ontario, Canada - Trip Advisor - February 13, 2013
“BREAKFAST to Die for”
Diner prices and 5 star menu....imagine Quinoa French Toast - melts in your mouth! The coffee is an endless cup, the Eggs Benny has homemade sauce and fresh fruit is NOT mellon!

Bananamalamute - Trip Advisor - February 8, 2013
“Awesome”
Good food good people awesome service ! Really enjoyed ourselves very much. Try the pakoras they are great!

Paloma Estella - Urbanspoon - February 7, 2013
I was soo sick with winter flu and felt like hell... Driving from kelowna to Calgary we decided to stop in.. Such a good idea! The food (island burger and fries) was excellent and the server was sweet... She made me two mojitos which cured (almost) my cold and gave us a few good laughs... Absolutely the place to stop by to eat in Golden!

Kate M - Collingwood, Canada - Trip Advisor - February 6, 2013
“Amazing food! Great Atmosphere”

We had an amazing dinner at the island after a long day on the hill. We were looking for something quick and basic - anything but pub food! And we stumbled across this gem. I could barely keep my eyes open I was so tired and I wasn't planning on ordering anything elaborate but once I laid my eyes on the menu my mouth was watering and my attention was peaked. What an incredible selection! My boyfriend and I split the scallops which were amazing and then shared the duck salad and wild boar ragu. The food was incredible. I was so full at the end of the meal but couldn't bring myself to leave a morsel on the dish. My only regret is that I didn't have room for desset - I imagine they are incredible. The next time I'm back in Golden I will be going back for sure! It's not cheap but nothing in Golden is so you might as well have an enjoyable meal - best value we found in town without a doubt.

goldengal88 - Golden, BC - Trip Advisor - February 5, 2013
“Best places to eat and have a few laughs!”

We love coming to the Island restaurant for breakfast lunch or dinner. The food is always amazing and has a great twist to some classic favorites. The servers and even the cooks come out to say hello and have a few giggles on the way and we love feeling at home in a restaurant! Highly recommend trying their appetizer platter or any of their buffalo dishes are to die for! And dont forget dessert, homemade pies and delicious cream brule. So get your butt down to the Island grab a delicious martini or a glass of wine from their wide range of selections and i can gurantee you wont be disappointed :)

GarinPerth_Australia - Perth, Australia - Trip Advisor - February 5, 2013
“Great food, great service”

Booked into the Licking horse lodge but found that the restaurants at the lodge were closed during the off-season, made our way down to the town where it started raining quite heavily and we ended up sheltering at the Island restaurant, it looked nice so we booked to come back for dinner, and we're glad we did. The service was great, warm and friendly and the food was great

high2wer - Witney - Trip Advisor - January 24, 2013
“Good Service, Good Food, Good Price”

We dropped in for lunch here and everything was really good. The menu had lots of choice, the server was great and the food was good to eat and well priced. It is not CHEAP but fairly priced.

Kelly D - Golden, BC - Yelp.ca - January 23, 2013

We had a quick lunch time meal here, and were surprised that it was not over priced. The food and service were both good. Our server made time to chat and give us information on the area. The menu was really nice, different but something for everyone. The quesadillas rock :)

Foxymerlin - St Albans, United Kingdom - Trip Advisor - January 19, 2013
“Friendly service and good, tasty food”

This restaurant was recommended to us for breakfast by the couple who run the restaurant at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets. We both chose to have an omelette, with mushrooms and bacon and it was very tasty indeed and most filling. It was served with hash browns and toast and we couldn't manage to finish it all. The service was very friendly and warm and we would thoroughly recommend the Island Restaurant to other diners.

darleneant - Chattanooga, Tennessee - Trip Advisor - January 18, 2013
“Tasty”

This restaurant had good food. I had a falafel wrap that turned out to be huge! The atmosphere is a little quirky and fun

javagen - Trip Advisor - January 8, 2013
“Fabulous food, excellent service”

We came for lunch and the food was fabulous! You can tell that they use quality ingredients and put love into preparing it. Our server was excellent and ver knowledgable. We will definately be coming back!

Smileycat13 - Ipswich, United Kingdom - Trip Advisor - January 6, 2013
“Fantastic Food”

We stayed in Golden as a stop over on our way to Banff National Park, for a small town there are some lovely restaurants, we decided to eat at The Island we sat out on the terrance which would have been lovely aside from being attacked by a swarm of wasps so we eventually gave up and sat inside which was just as nice. The food and the service was brilliant, huge portions well cooked and reasonably priced, I would recommend this to anyone who is in the area.

michelle beaupre - Googlemaps - November 2012
Food: Excellent Decor: Excellent Service: Excellent
The chef is astounding! This is the place to go for fine dining quality in a causal atmosphere I always stop when coming through

Krista Bratton - Googlemaps - September 2012
Food: Excellent Decor: Very good Service: Excellent
We stopped in at The Island on our way to Banff and were very glad we did. Patio has a lovely view, service was very good and the food was excellent. I had the black pasta which was totally delicious and filling. If you're passing through that way and want a good meal, stop here.

ConnieB - Golden BC Canada - Trip Advisor - January 3, 2013
“Visit”

Our Grandson was visiting Golden over the holidays he is quite a "foodie" ( in a positive way) and we took him to the Island to meet the owners who are friends and treat him to some fine food.
He thoroughly enjoyed the meal,, service and great atmosphere as did the grandparents highly recommended

Breannapalmer1 - Calgary Canada - Trip Advisor - January 3, 2013
“Island Restaurant”
I appreciated that it was a healthy version of the pina colada that I had been craving! (there was no syrup though). We found that the Jerk Chicken could have used a little more Jerk Sauce and was a bit dry- otherwise a memorable experience! Thanks!

Alouse D. - Edmonton, AB - Yelp.ca - December 24, 2012
I was driving back to Edmonton from Kelowna with my family and we stopped in Golden for the night. Driving my this restaurant my grandmother thought we should stop in. So glad we did. The Island was a really nice restaurant, in a really nice log cabin. We sat inside, but I think the views outside would be pretty nice.

I ordered the potato soup with lovage and the Aussie burger. I'd never even heard of lovage before (totally not a plant person) so this soup was a real surprise for my tastebuds, almost has a celery type of flavour to it. The potato soup was completely different from any potato soup I've had before, and I loved it.

The Aussie burger I decided to get because it had a fried egg on it, and I'd tried a fried egg on a burger before and enjoyed it. The burger also had bacon, pineapple, cheese and beets (but not necessarily in that order). I should make mention that I hate beets, but I decided to give this burger a shot (without asking them to hold the beets). Survey says this burger (beets and all) was fantastic. Such a medley of flavours, from the salty crispy bacon to the sweet pineapple, to the creaminess of the egg and the earthy taste of the beets. I think it helps that the beets were cut up into long spirals, so you never got a huge chuck of beet, but just the right amount with every price.

The desserts looked so good, especially the creme brulee, but by this time I was full. The food was delicious, and our server was very friendly, and helpful making recommendations. Everyone else in my family seemed to enjoy what they had. The Island is a bit out of the way for me, but if I'm ever driving out to BC I'll make sure to stop here again.

SDN01 - Calgary Canada - Trip Advisor - December 24, 2012
“Very Good!”
First time at The Island. Was so impressed with the breadth of menu, and quality of food. The burger was spectacular, the wild boar, and the curry, to give a sense of the the variety.....great service, really nice warm ambience inside. We'll for sure be back. A new favorite in Golden!

HowardAB - Trip Advisor - December 21, 2012
“Very creative food, very friendly service”
This is a very nice place to stop for a break from Calgary. They update their menu periodically. We were here a month ago and they already have a new menu. They are now our favorite restaurant in Golden.

Trygus - Trip Advisor - December 7, 2012
“Aussie Burger”
A regular stop when heading through the Selkirks. A little off the highway, but worth the detour. Most recent romantic dinner was filled with lively entertainment from the quick witted staff. Order the Aussie Burger - but bring a towel for clean up.

Aaron P - Calgary, AB - Trip Advisor - December 4, 2012
“The service, wine and most of the food was excellent. Steak was okay.”
Recently had a nice dinner at this restaurant. It was Sunday night and very quiet. The atmosphere was just what we were looking for after a day of snowboarding. Service was excellent and they had a solid wine selection. We both had steaks with veggies, I had rice and my girlfriend had the potatoes.

The veggies were excellent, and I enjoyed my rice, my girlfriend wasn't thrilled with the side potatoes. The steaks were well cooked, medium-rare and medium, unfortunately they were rather thin and we're particularly flavourful. I may have become a bit of a steak snob over the years but I can buy a $10 steak at the butcher and get a nice thick cut of meat, then cook it medium-rare and get a better steak than most restaurants (including fancy steak houses).

So overall for a restaurant the steak was good, just not quite there to make it an excellent experience for me. Very enjoyable dinner, I will go back to try something else next time I'm in golden.

Sara_and_Paul - Manchester, United Kingdom - Trip Advisor - November 28, 2012
“Nice food”
We were passing though on the way out of the Rockies and stopped here for lunch. It wasn’t over busy but there were enough in to create a pleasant atmosphere. The food was really nice, well priced and the service was excellent.

JodylynnGolden - Golden, Canada - Trip Advisor - November 21, 2012
“The Island Restaurant-Golden, BC”
This restaurant is worth stopping for! As a local I have had the opportunity to dine here several times. For a friendly get together on the patio overlooking the Kicking Horse River, for meetings and for girls night out, you can't go wrong here. The food is unique, and the service is always incredible. Mt friends and I were there the other night and the server offered us something different that wasn't on the menu yet, warm wine with a unique blend of spices! Yummy will be back many more times this winter to enjoy!

GirlintheLBD - Golden, Canada - Trip Advisor - November 11, 2012
“Golden Local”
I am a local of Golden and at first was very excited to hear a new restaurant (a few years ago)would be opening in a building that before did have much use. It is in a wonderful location just by the river, pedestrian bridge, and very accessible if you would like to walk through the shops and eateries in the town.

I have to commend the owners for doing such a lovely job of changing what used to be a rather dull building into something quite beautiful. They always have wonderful flower pots in front of the business, clean windows and parking lot, and a WONDERFUL patio great for having drinks on a sunny day. In the winter they always have great Christmas lights up, they take care of the details!

Inside is quite quaint. They have this warm, vintage atmosphere (though not old in anyway.) It's very much like spending the afternoon in a Luxury Mountain Home. I love sitting upstairs by the window and the piano.

They have a stunning wooden bar with the best martini's in Golden, perfectly complimented by terrific food (a few of my favourites are the Calamari with Banana Rita, Carrot Puree and Dill Soup, Vodka Sake Prawns, and of course the Jamaican Jerk Sandwich!----AND we can't forget the Rosehip Crème Brule! Yumm!)

In the past few years I have dined here for quite a few special occasions (Dinner on the day of my Bachelorette Party, the past 2 birthdays, Grandparents Birthday, and Valentine’s Day) along with quite a few stop ins for just a random night out with my husband.

My review is getting really long (sorry for you readers!) the one thing I did want to mention is that the owners really go out of their way to ensure locals are coming into the restaurant. Just last month they offered a 10 or 15% discount as a costumer appreciation month and they are always doing little things like this during the slow tourist season. I am always glad to see their open sign when plenty other restaurants in Golden have shut their doors to the public for a few months in the spring and fall when there are not many travellers---Locals are always able to enjoy a nice night free of cooking and dishes!

Kristopher_King - Golden, Canada - Trip Advisor - October 22, 2012
“Fresh - Unique - Friendly”
The service is above and beyond great. The servers attention to detail really get me every time I come in. They are always busy making things shine to anything you see, it is clean and bright during the day, quiet and romantic at night, you feel the warmth as you walk in just like a lakeside cabin inside. The location is central in Golden. The building sets the tone for your experience. Massive log building with antique eloquent furnishings to match. The bar is a solid piece of timber and a great place to chat with the owners and staff.

Inexpensive with added value is the norm in their homemade food. Fresh daily bread, jams, smoked meats, sauces and soups shine through the offerings on their menu The food is classic with with great care to detail to make it unique with fusions of different cultures. You will find the Chefs worldly experiences shine through their food. The meals are vibrant with colour and staked with fresh flavours.

This place is great for quiet private meetings or for large groups which I have attend to many times here. The two story deck and patio with full service bar overlooking the Kicking Horse River and the Rocky Mountains is the best in town. This Island is a place not to miss in Golden.

Beejmcgillashaw - Winnipeg, Canada - Trip Advisor - October 20, 2012
“Solid”
The restaurant is pretty easy to find off the highway. The parking lot was a little confusing, no lines painted anywhere. We went for an early dinner on a Thursday, and it was wasn't very busy. Our server was super friendly. Me and my partner both had the buffalo burger with caeser salad. The burgers were both good. The salad is pretty big but the way they serve it, I found it difficult to eat(but it was still good). All in all I would eat here again, if in the area.

Canadianholiday - Edmonton, Alberta - Trip Advisor - October 7, 2012
“Gem in the mountains”
My husband and I had an amazing dinner in this quaint rustic hideaway...caesar salad was awesome, the spicy hot and sour tomatillo soup was crazy good.. seafood chowder thick and tasty...Aussie burger looked almost too good to eat...and to top it off, the service was outstanding. Dinner for two with one cocktail each was only $53.00! ...definitely stopping there again

godavidgo - Radium Hot Springs, Canada - Trip Advisor - October 5, 2012
“We enjoyed The Island Restaurant in Golden, again”
My wife and I went to Golden for lunch October 5, 2012. She had the Bison Burger with fries, which she really enjoyed. I ate some of her fries, and they are indeed good fries. I tried the "Aussie" burger. Our server had an accent and I asked her where she was from. She was Australian. I asked her if she had ever eaten anything in Australia like the "Aussie" Burger that was on the menu. She said definitely. They always put a fried egg on their burgers in Australia. So I gave it a try, with their Seafood Chowder as my side. (Very good chowder.) The Aussie burger also has sliced beets and sliced pineapple on it, which at first seemed quite strange. Well, the "Aussie" Burger did in fact taste very good. Little taste surprises in each bite as you go through it. I did find that the bun it came in was not up to the task, as it fell apart quite quickly with all of the moist contents it was expected to hold. I mentioned this to our server, and she said she would take these comments to the chef and seemed to be treating my suggestion quite respectfully. Also, the restaurant has a very nice setting, with good views along the river, and fine decor within. I recommend it to anyone.

David B - Enfield, Connecticut - Trip Advisor - September 28, 2012
“Excellent food, good ambiance - a touch pricey”
Have now been to The Island 3 times, and always had an excellent meal. Sitting on the patio is very nice. Inside is a little dark, but if it rains what can you do. Apps, main courses and desserts all very good (and portion sizes are ample). It is a touch pricey, perhaps 15% or so above what I would have expected, but overall I would continue to go back when in the area.

Dogtooth1947 - Quesnel, Canada - Trip Advisor - September 23, 2012
“You have to try the rose hip creme brule”
Dinner with good friends was memorable. Service was very good. My wife and I both had the lamb meat balls with home made gnocchi. Really good. The highlight for me was the rose hip creme brule. They pick their own rose hips according to the server. It was simply excellent.

Garry L - Trip Advisor - September 23, 2012
“Fabulous food, great service”
We had the Thai chicken bowl tonight. Wonderful taste, texture and great value. Jocelyn served us and was fantastic. I'd recommend this restaurant to everyone

Alexandra F - Toddington, United Kingdom - Trip Advisor - September 20, 2012
“Fab Restaurant”
The terrace outside has a lovely view of the river and mountains, we ate outside and watched the sun go down. The food was excellent. The Coconut Prawns were scrummy as was the the Chicken & Ginger Spring Rolls. The staff were both very friendly and efficient.

Shirley M - Red Deer, Canada - Trip Advisor - September 15, 2012
“1st Anniversary”
We were on a week holiday celebrating our wedding anniversary and ate at this amazing place. Our serve was so amazing and as for the food it was FANTASTIC. At the end of our meal our server came out with a creme brule with candles and sparklers,,,,,,make our evening so very special

Kara H - Golden, Canada - Trip Advisor - September 10, 2012
“Wonderful Dinner”
We took our daughter and her friend to dinner to celebrate her birthday. The food, the atmosphere, and the service were all wonderful. My husband has a very restricted diet and the kitchen was able to accomodate him and we all had a wonderful meal. The service was excellent as the staff were all friendly and cheerful. We will definitely be back soon!

Skaught86 - Banff, Alberta, Canada - Trip Advisor - September 6, 2012
“Amazing Lunch”
I stopped in for lunch during one of my monthly visits to Golden. The food was amazing, the service was top notch and the entire experience was extremely comfortable and enjoyable. I have a new favourite restaurant in Golden!

SpiffyGriffy - Golden, Canada - Trip Advisor - September 5, 2012
“Food is Golden!!”
I was downtown the other day looking for something to eat and I came in to eat for lunch, the restaurant is amazing and the service was awesome, they recommend to have the ginger chicken spring rolls to start so i did. they were unlike any other spring roll I've ever had!!, after those i really wanted to try the black pepper fettuccini because i love homemade pasta and thats how its done there, i can't believe how good it was, I was very satisfied with my meal. I wish I wasn't so full after my starter and main because I wanted to try one the desserts, but I know I'll be back again to try have one.

fnlcsh - Calgary, Canada - Trip Advisor - September 5, 2012
“Awesome spot for lunch”
We had great service, great food and a beautiful view from the patio.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant and will be back again.

ThatsGoldRick - Hobart, Australia - Trip Advisor - September 4, 2012
“Amazing Restaurant”
I came to Golden 21st of July and had a pizza that afternoon at The Island Restaurant. It was so good I decided I should come back for dinner with some friends. I had the Crab Cakes for a starter followed by the Lamb Meatballs for my Main Course and the food is to die for. The service was fantastic too. Thanks to Ashley and Jocelyn for a great night and everyone who made it possible. I'm still in Golden and I eat here nearly every day! Thanks again

wetnwildGolden_BC - Golden, BC - Trip Advisor - September 1, 2012
“Great food, awesome location”
All the food is made from scratch and it shows! Meal was delicious and I love the patio by the river right downtown. Can't go wrong with this restaurant!

ava p - golden - Trip Advisor - August 30, 2012
“best food in golden!”
My family and I have been coming to the Island for a few years now and its become our favorite restaurant. Incredible food! Especially the caramel salmon and the eggs benny. The service is excellent and food cooked to perfection. If we could go there everyday we would! I highly recommend this place.

Ann5710 - Sechelt, Canada - Trip Advisor - August 27, 2012
“Love this place”
We had a fabulous breakfast at the Island. My husband had poached eggs, bacon, wholewheat toast, well seasoned hashbrowns, and fresh fruit bowl. The preserve was made from a blend of berries - wish they sold it already canned for us to take home! I had a gluten free French Toast with rosehip syrup - light and spectacular - and berries. The service was excellent, we were offered alternatives, and price was very reasonable. Can't wait to return!

Goldenell - Banff, Alberta, Canada - Trip Advisor - August 27, 2012
“Amazing food and service”
When ever my boyfriend and I have a special occasion we go to the island. Fresh local food choices and organic local beer! And top notch service Highly recommend it for a romantic night out. A girls night out or for a large function.

Dillyg420 - mobile review - Trip Advisor - August 27, 2012
“Best food in bc”
Iv been traveling over bc for the last couple of weeks and have been trying new restaurants and I stumbled upon the island restaurant, and I must say its the best restaurant in bc because golden is my last stop in bc. The food is excellent I had coconut prawns to start and they were cooked to perfection golden brown and just a delightfull taste and I had there apple wood smoked ribs special and it was amazing I highly recomend this restaurant for the quality service and amazing food

Chubbychaser31 - mobile review - Trip Advisor - August 27, 2012
“Perfect”
This is by far the best restaurant I have ever been too, the apple smoked barbecue ribs was the best meal I ever had. I had the coconut prawns as an appy and it was just delicious.

judymichael40 - Qualicum Beach, Canada - Trip Advisor - August 23, 2012
“my first visit”
we had lunch here 2 weeks ago. the day before had been sunny and there had been many people on the outdoor deck. the day we went, we were the only guests. i had a yummy lentil soup. there are old pics on the wall explaining the history of the town and the site of the building. antique furniture for the tables. a fun place i'm sure.

Greg C - Edmonton, Canada - Trip Advisor - August 22, 2012
“Best food in the rockies”
I've been fortunate enough to visit the rockies a lot... and well... eat at a lot of places too. This place here is the best I've had. Seriously, their menu is amazing, everything (well mostly) is made in house... even down to their pasta.

I went with the seafood pasta and boy was I in flavour country. It was to die for. We also had oysters, crab cakes, and lamb meatballs. The entire menu was great, so were the drinks.

They have an extensive food and drink menu. If you go, ask for the pina colada martini. It's not on the menu, but I'm sure they will make it for you.

My wife and I came for a mini-honeymoon and we were treated like kings. I can't wait to make my way to Golden again just to eat here.

sandra c - Oak Harbor, Washington - Trip Advisor - August 22, 2012
“Great food and service”
After driving around town at 4:00 PM and noticing many of the restaurants closed we chose here to eat. The waitress was friendly and helpful and food very good!

Nic M - Canada - Trip Advisor - August 22, 2012
“Awesome food!”
Great atmosphere, great service and awesome food! The food is real food made from scratch and is high quality with a great variety of flavours :)

Roberta154913 - Calgary, Canada - Trip Advisor - August 22, 2012
“Don't miss this place”
My wife and I were advised to stop here to eat by our daughter who said the food was "yummy". We were welcomed by a very personable hostess, seated on the patio upstairs and then received excellent service, outstanding food and great conversation with the staff. They were busy but we were never in want of something. Highly recommended experience.

Laura R.Werrington, Australia - Foursquare - August 18, 2012
This is honestly some of the best food I've eaten in my year that I've been in Canada. The service was amazing and for the quality of food it was very reasonably priced.

mick47 - Regina - Trip Advisor - August 15, 2012
“Such a great meal!”
So easy to get to in Golden and such a great meal! Priced very reasonably and the service is GREAT! The surroundings are wonderful as the Kicking Horse river runs right past the parking area. A definite stop on our next trip to Golden BC!

Jazz M - Mississauga, Ontario - Trip Advisor - August 15, 2012
“I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS RESTAURANT”
The food at this amazing restaurant are both delicious and incredibly enjoyable. The service is wonderful, every employee that works there is very welcoming to the customers when they step foot in their restaurant. I highly recommend that you visit at once!

Brandon R - Mississauga, Ontario - Trip Advisor - August 15, 2012
“THE BEST FOOD”
All the food there is really delicious and the service is amazing I recommend this resturaunt to everyone!!!

Jono F - Edmonton, Canada - Trip Advisor - August 12, 2012
“excellent all around”
our server was a bit inexperienced, but the food was fantastic. We will be back for certain. Upon arriving, we were cautioned that the wait may be longer than usual due to a wedding they were catering on the upper floor, but our meals arrived in the usual time and were prepared perfectly.

shadfax - Calgary, Canada - Trip Advisor - August 10, 2012
“Wow”
Took the family of four ( 2 adults and 2 kids) to the restaurant for dinner on a Saturday night. We ordered the platter as a app and then had : lobster special with scallops , steak, lamb, and a burger. The appy was pretty good, the lamb and special were fantastic, the steak was tough ( I mentioned this to the waitress to tell the chef before we left).... and the view / atmosphere was excellent. A nice find and though not cheap is well worth the money.

Scott M - Calgary, Canada - Trip Advisor - August 8, 2012
“Excellent variety”
Really enjoyed the patio for our dinner at The Island. Our server, Ashley, was friendly and attentive. The menu offers excellent variety and all four of us enjoyed our selections. Recommend.

Sweet16getaway - Calgary, Canada - Trip Advisor - August 7, 2012
“Absolutely delicious!”
We stopped here mid afternoon for a bite to eat after a long day's drive. The food was amazing! My husband said it was the best caesar salad he had ever eaten! The lamb burger with blue cheese was delicious. We were so pleased with the service, the friendly staff and the super clean decor. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone and will definitely return when we're back in BC!

SAB - Calgary, AB - Urbanspoon - August 6, 2012
"Great place!"

The patio overlooking the river is fabulous. The Putanesca is wonderful. Friendly staff and great service

jenavive73 - golden - Trip Advisor - August 1, 2012
“Best Patio in Golden”
Chicken Fettucine from scratch was amazing! The Creme Brulee was also very very good. The patio and its view are spectacular overlooking the Columbia River. The log building is genuinely warm, inviting and beautifully done with a little bit of Goldens history scattered throughout its interior. My family and I enjoyed this restaurant very much and will return very soon.

Anita J - Trip Advisor - July 31, 2012
“Happy!”
Just had lunch there today and the food was great and the service was excellent. Definitely worth checking out.

travelswithbob21 - Cameron Park, California - Trip Advisor - July 25, 2012
“Great place to eat in Golden, British Columbia”
On a recent trip from Jasper to Fairmont Hot Springs we stopped at The Island for dinner. We loved the setting on the deck overlooking the river and food was excellent. Our server could not have been nicer...indeed, her greeting when we came back after looking at several other local restaurants, made us realize we had made the right selection. Owners (Chef and wife) were delightful and his food preparation was REALLY CREATIVE. Everyone made us feel very at home during our meal...servers definitely believe in the team concept...and even more so afterwards when every traveler's worst nightmare occurs (in our case misplacing our rental car keys!!!). Everyone practically turned the restaurant inside out to help us and we did eventually find them on a shelf in the women's restroom. If we lived in Golden we would eat here at least once a week. Thank you all very much for a wonderful dining experience. Bob and Brenda Wheatley (Placerville, CA)

Ryan J - Rocky Mountain House, Canada - Trip Advisor - July 18, 2012
“Great food”
Great steak and Mt. Begbie beer on tap. The kids liked the pizza and our server was very helpful in bringing a plate of fresh veggies that was not on the menu to meet our needs. Great patio!

JacV - Urbanspoon - July 14, 2012 - Really Likes it
"Love this place!"

The food is always so good! We love to eat here and are never disappointed!

pipenlea - sydney, australia - Trip Advisor - July 13, 2012
“Best breakfast we've had in ages”
What a find, walking in, we weren't sure what to expect, but soon enough we knew we were in the right place! The decor is a little quirky which immediately made us feel at home. The attention and conversation from our server was very pleasant, but the best thing was the food. My omelette was cooked to perfection and the accompanying fresh fruit compot was a nice addition. Best of all was the bumble berry jam, a home made creation.... Yum, it should be bottled. If your in golden or passing thru and want a hearty breakfast, this is the place.

JimZerbe - Martin City, Montana - Trip Advisor - July 13, 2012
“Nice Location”
Good food, good prices, and a good location. If you are looking for a place to have a good dinner and enjoy a river setting this is the place.

Gypsy2012, Toronto, Canada - Trip Advisor - June 27, 2012
“This is a great place!”
First of all we want to Thank Jocelyn who took such excellent care of us while we were there. She does the restaurant credit. Service was flawless. She made the right recommendations and gave us enough time and space to enjoy our meal instead of servers who hover too much.

The location is lovely. We were unable to sit on the patio overlooking the river since it was a little chilly and the rain hadn't dried off completely.

The food itself was great but the desserts didn't quite meet our expectations after their excellent meal. They had some very interesting choices but it didn't quite hit the spot.

A definite recommend though. Worth two visits at least!

Mark1960_12, Golden, BC - Trip Advisor - June 26, 2012
“Great food, fantastic patio!!!!!”
Everything is great here, the food, the drinks, the atmosphere and the view!!!!!!!

gilkin, derby - Trip Advisor - June 26, 2012
“nice place”
The meal was o.k & service good, the log cabin is different to what we are used to .We found the place good for a meal & did not disappoint .

Takemeonaholiday - Golden, Canada - Trip Advisor - June 25, 2012

“Breakfast, lunch or dinner- always great”
The Island is a fantastic spot for any meal. I especially love the breakfast. Reasonable prices and fresh good food. I love the homemade bread and side of fruit salad.

As a Golden local, the Island is an easy one to recommend. The space works for a cosy couple or a group meeting. It's got a broad menu with reasonable comfort food to fancier dinners.

Chris B - Calgary, Canada - Trip Advisor - June 25, 2012 “Special meals in a special place.” Golden, British Columbia is a nice little mountain town. If you are there you need to have a meal or two at The Island Restaurant. You can’t miss it; it’s right in the middle of town AND right in the middle of the Kicking Horse River. I keep going back when I am in town. Ask for a recommendation for a glass of some interesting red wine from the deep south of British Columbia (Oliver, Osoyoos, the Naramata Bench, the Similkameen Valley…this is good stuff) while you cruise the menu. You can’t go wrong. Fresh, local ingredients and a global-village sense of flavors and composition are present in everything. The vegetables and herbs are picked fresh in the garden out the back door of the kitchen. The pasta is homemade. The bison is local. The crabapples come from the tree you can see out the window. The rosehip nectar was extracted from the wild rose bushes along the back roads and byways around town. Tuesday is sushi night. Just show up and say, “Feed me.” If there is seafood on the menu get it. It is fresh filleted right there in the kitchen. And then there is the… oh well, you’ll have to figure it out for yourself. Save room for dessert. The rosehip crème brûlée is a personal favorite but if they have just made a batch of ice cream then I have it with the bumbleberry ravioli. In the winter we have our meal in the cozy confines of the timber frame restaurant building and in the summer we dine on the patios and watch the Kicking Horse River flow by. No rush. 67vistacruiser - Revelstoke, Canada - Trip Advisor - June 20, 2012
“A fried egg and beets on a burger? Who knew how great it could be...”
As all the other reviewers have mentioned, the food, service and atmosphere on the Island are great. So I'll just make a recommendation. The Aussie burger (complete with eggs and beets) is unbelievable. Combine it with a bowl of tomatillo soup and your lunch will seem like a fieworks display of flavours.

Roland K- Calgary, AB - Trip Advisor - June 14, 2012
“Great location, good food, great service”
If you are passing through Golden and looking for something else than the usual offer of fast food restaurants lined up along the Trans-Canada Highway, this place is a great alternative. The location, on an island on the Kicking Horse river, is ideal, and the beautiful, nicely decorated log building with a patio overlooking the river provides a great venue. The service was very good, child friendly, and the pub fare, while not tremendously original, was tasty. Very good fries among other things, and a good lamb burger. The rustic decor seems well suited for the enjoyment of a few beers in the evening, unfortunately for me this was just a quick stop over. I will certainly stop there again, even if this requires a 5-minute detour off the main highway.

Rhonda Logan - Urbanspoon - June 3, 2012 - Really Likes it
"Amazing!!!"

Iron chef quality food at a fraction of the price. High quality would eat here often if I lived in the area!! dongailmillett - Calgary, AB - Trip Advisor - June 2, 2012
“nice dinner”
loved the menu and the service. greta food and creative chef !

triciawoo09 - Calgary, AB
- Trip Advisor - May 3, 2012

“Excellent Breakfast”
We stopped here for breakfast on our way out of town. The restaurant is quaint and the interior is tastefully decorated. Almost makes you feel as if you're sitting in a parlour room rather than a restaurant. The food was fabulous and I like that they had Gluten free options. I will definitely go back.

Janine L - Island Lake
- Trip Advisor - April 15, 2012

“Amazing, from start to finish!”
From appetizers to dessert, this restaurant was amazing! My friend and I had a very lovely adult dinner. The unique menu provided interesting choices, and both the food and drinks thrilled us from beginning to end. The service was wonderful, and the atmosphere really topped off the experience. I would absolutely go again!!!

JS28 - Golden BC
- Trip Advisor - April 9, 2012

“Always great food & service”
We live in Golden and The Island is one of our favorites. Always great food in an amazing log building.

equus5 - Edmonton - Trip Advisor - April 7, 2012

“Beautiful woodwork, lovely location”
It is amazing that this kind of restaurant exists in a small town like Golden. Its worth a visit just to see the custom woodwork inside. The location is excellent and the food is better than average.

DoreenB - Golden BC - Trip Advisor - April 6, 2012

“Wow - Blown away by the awesome food!”
If you like lamb and you like burgers, this is the place to go! I had the most awesome lamb burger, I have ever tasted. It blew my taste buds into overdrive. This restaurant is located on an island in the Kicking Horse River in downtown Golden in a restored log house. The service and food are superb!!

TerryW - Calgary AB- Trip Advisor - April 1, 2012

“Awesome - the food, the folks, the ambience!”
I loved this place and look forward to visiting again and trying other items on their menu (which was a very interesting/varied menu). The staff were very friendly, helpful, and fun. the Food was terrific. The ambience of this place was lovely. We chose to eat downstairs which was a very cosy, comfy, experience but next time we will try the upper level to experience the view from an even better vantage point. The owners deserve great praise for the design, decor, and the experience they bring to this unique restaurant.

PeterBedmonton - Edmonton AB - Trip Advisor - March 30, 2012

“SEA SCALLOPS ARE HUGE < FRESH AND BEST”

Try the Sea Scallops Appetizer!!! Seared to perfections served with Guacamole side with Sake Sauce.!!! AMAZING!! Best I ever Had!

SShymko - Trip Advisor - March 29, 2012

“Delicious and affordable!”

Stopped for lunch, had the ciabatta club sandwich with house salad. It was great and reasosonably priced. Great atmosphere with unique furniture giving it a rustic feel.

Button_WestCanada - Calgary, Canada - Trip Advisor - March 29, 2012

“Amazing Food, Best in Golden/Kicking Horse. GF Options”
Amazing local and homemade food, even homemade bread and gluten free bread. Fantastic, best place to go in Golden & Kicking Horse.

SilentEcho - Calgary, Canada - Trip Advisor - March 28, 2012

“Excellent service - must come here!”
This was an excellent restaurant experience. We jokingly asked for a romantic table for two and were shown to "the date table" and they even brought a candle for the table. It only got better after that. The service was consistently outstanding. They had a party on the upper floor that night and kept apologizing that they were busy but we didn't notice a moment when our needs and desires weren't met. Great food (we wanted to order everything on the menu), beautiful views of the mountains, lovely decor (log cabin style place - how cool is that?) and again, excellent service. Don't miss this place!


rustyoletoy - Calgary, Canada - Trip Advisor - March 21, 2012

“Good”
It was good food. Nice ambience. Food was a little eclectic which offers lots of choices but wasn't my favorite. That is the style they go for so they do it well but made for disjointed menu choices. That being said, the dishes we ordered were great.

JoyMichelle67 - Golden, Canada - Trip Advisor - March 17, 2012

“Fresh Creative Cuisine and Superior Service”
I love this restaurant and bring friends and family here as often as possible. The Food is creative and the specials are excellent. Great Wine list and very relaxing dining experience. The wait staff are friendly and very knowledgable about the menu and wine pairing. Beautiful setting on Goulds Island Downtown Golden.

John F - Kelowna, BC - Trip Advisor - March 15, 2012

“So good we came back for breakfast!”
We met up at the Island for dinner with close friends. The food was amazing, a real top of the line place! Service was fantastic! We had the best seat in the place. We enjoyed it so much we came back the next day for breakfast! It was unique, every item on the menu had its own little flare. We will be going to the Island every time we're in Golden!

JacLe - Trip Advisor - March 15, 2012

“Love!”
We have eaten there many times for lunch when traveling through Golden. We had the opportunity to eat there on Feb 24th for dinner. Food was delicious as we had expected it to be. Menu has a bit of everything, enough to choose from. Well worth the stop and not over priced!

Debbie B - Golden, BC - Trip Advisor - March 15, 2012
“Best patio and food in Golden”

We enjoy many meals in the restuarant. This is personally my favourite restaurant. Sitting on the patio with view of the mountains and the river beside you is enjoyable.. especially on those hot sunny days. We each have our favourite dishes. I love their use of fresh herbs from the garden, quality ingredients and the pride they take in their dishes. The service we receive from all the staff is so personable and friendly. I have enjoyed a few quality nights of live entertainment in a very intimate setting.

Karen H - North Vancouver - Trip Advisor - March 12, 2012

“Delicous, great service!”
I enjoyed the great, friendly service. The food was cooked to perfection, will go again on our next time through.

Connie B - Golden, BC - Trip Advisor - March 11, 2012
“Awesome”
Visited island restaurant last Friday night with friends had an awesome meal, ambiance, staff, are top notch. Very accommodating staff great food. One of our go to restaurants!

EmilieKootenay - Trip Advisor - March 1, 2012

“Fantastic service, great food, great price!”
The Island is located downtown Golden and serves tasty food in a cozy log-cabin type ambiance. Service is warm and professional and prices are more than reasonable. Thanks to Petra and her team for the good time we had!

Defense17 - Trip Advisor - Feb 21, 2012

“Great family resturant!”
Had a great atmosphere, good food and an awesome bar. Reccomend to anyone!

John W - Calgary, AB - Trip Advisor - Feb 20, 2012

“What an Amazing Culinary Experience - In Golden”
Just off the kicking horse river-- nestled onto it's own island sits an incredible best kept culinary secret in Golden B.C!
Try the Steak!! And the Scallops as an appy. Turns out owners are the chef and restaurant manager. Makes you feel right at home while offering a culinary experience second to none.
Enjoy! and Bon apetite!

Wayne F
- Calgary, AB - TripAdvisor -
Feb 9, 2012

“Fabulous restaurant - one of my all-time favorites”
I was given the responsibility for organizing a dinner for 50 people, and The Island came highly recommended. I reviewed their menu on their website in advance; it provided a wide variety that was very interesting and provided affordable options for all of the guests.

The service was excellent - timely and friendly. The atmosphere was lively; the decore was warm. The food was some of the best I have ever had (including relative to big city restaurants with $50 entrees). The standard fare (ie steak sandwiches) was well done, and the more eclectic dishes (ie scallops in a dill cream sauce and prawns in a delicious boozy glaze) were outstanding.

If you are in Golden, do not miss this restaurant!

Luke N
- Golden, BC - TripAdvisor - Jan 19, 2012

“Pizza is great”
The services is fantastic and the food equally so. My Wife is lactose intolerant, so we have to watch for that stuff. They were more than happy to alter the pizza and do something a little different. The ribs that i had were amazing!

bem
‎ - Googlemaps - Jan 2, 2012

Wasn't too sure on what to expect bc of the varied menu, but loved the food. Fine dining in a ski town. Definitely recommend!
Liked:
Great service, Awesome food, Ceasar salad! Fettuccini!

Tess G. - Edmonton, AB Foursquare  December 28, 2011

And it's a martini bar !

Wayne & Julie Nadon, California - December 24, 2011

"Dear Aaron & Staff, 

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and the ambience of the restaurant.  The bonus was when you invited us to stay in your beautiful little wood home.  We will be back!  Merry Christmas."

KennyB - UrbanSpoon - Dec 2, 2011
We went to 3 restaurants in golden one of which being the BBQ smokepit and waited almost 2 hours only for us to find put that the items we ordered were no longer available... Starving and running out of options at a later hour we came here to the island and soo happy we did. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone in or visiting golden.. The service was friendly and welcoming eventhough they were about shut her down for the evening... The service was very friendly and fast and the food was great!!!!!

Bobo Obob
‎ - GoogleMaps - Nov 28, 2011
Awesome value.. Fine dining at it's finest.. You gotta check it out...

Liked: Food, Service, Atmosphere, Value, Best sushi this side of Japan...

Kaeleigh E, Calgary, AB - yelp.ca - Nov 23, 2011
I can't believe I haven't written this review yet!!

The customer service at this place is off the hook. Everyone was so amazing, and nice, and efficient, and just all-around awesome. You rock, Island staff! Don't ever change!

The building is like a log cabin kind of. It's beautiful inside and out. Just lovely. We ended up sitting inside as it was a touch chilly for outdoor dining, considering we wore dresses. I would like to try the patio one day as it looked stunning.

I had the Aussie burger for my entree. My "beef" with this is it's just too big. The egg on the burger tasted delicious but for me the beets didn't add anything and it just made the burger even more difficult to eat. I wouldn't say I disliked it but I wouldn't order it again for sure, it's just too challenging to get it from plate to tummy. The appy we had was the goat cheese phyllo. For me, I would eat these every day of the week if I lived in Golden, I swear! I loved them so much, and the side salad they include was a nice refreshing compliment to the rich goat cheese. SO good, I'm craving it as we speak.

I can't wait for my next trip to BC when I can make a stop here again. I'm dying to try some other things on their menu!!


Emma G, Calgary, AB - yelp.ca - Nov 17, 2011
My best friend and I were planning a trip to Kelowna with a stopover in Golden, and stumbled upon The Island while looking for fun places to eat.

She phoned to make a reservation and commented to me afterwards about how polite and friendly they were on the phone. They asked if it was a special occasion, where we'd like to sit, and suggested if we sat outside that we bring extra warm clothes. Very thoughtful and shows that they really wanted us to enjoy our experience.

I checked the menu out online and found myself salivating over almost their entire menu. It's a pretty big menu but it has lots of variety and I think it could appeal to even the pickiest eaters. So many delicious looking options!

When we got to Golden earlier than we expected, we phone and asked if we could come in earlier, which was no problem. It turned out this was because the restaurant was pretty quiet, but whatever - I appreciated the flexibility as my tummy was rumbling at this point.

The hostess was friendly and lead us in right away to a cute table in the corner. This is a beautiful restaurant, inside and out. I was very impressed by the bar - it's a huge chunk of wood hung from the ceiling - hard to describe but beautiful!

Our servers were very polite and professional, however it did seem like nobody had specific sections so we had a few different servers and sometimes were looking around trying to find one. It wasn't a big deal and everyone we dealt with was polite but it did seem disorganized.

As a starter we had the baked goat cheese phyllo, which came with a side salad, which was a bit odd to me. However the phyllo was very tasty - the flavours went well together and we gobbled it up. It was sliiiightly cold which was a bit of a turn off but honestly it tasted delicious.

As a main I ordered the black pepper fettuccini (a tough choice amongst so many tasty looking things!), which was delicious. It was a fairly large portion of deliciousness and I loved it. When I go back, I'll be tempted to try it again, although there are so many other things I'd like to try...

Sadly we were too full for dessert as I wanted to try the rosehip creme brule and the bumbleberry tortellini, but next time!!

Overall this is a beautiful restaurant with delicious, well-priced food and friendly service. I don't remember how much we paid in total but it was comparable to some of the most mediocre chains, so not much at all. Definitely a beautiful place to stop for a nice meal if you're in the area! I'll be back.


Cazhall - Urbanspoon - cazhall - September 23, 2011 - Likes it

This small town has a lot of restaurants but this is easily the best. We returned repeatedly - great service, amazing views from the patio, and I couldnt get enough of those buffalo burgers! Husband loved the spicey poblano and the platter was divine. Highly recommend to all travellers.

Robin B - Golden BC - TripAdvisor - 21 September 2011

“One of our Favorites!”
We always love to come to the Island. The family like atmosphere and staff always makes for a pleasureable, relaxed visit. Plus they bring me a glass of Malbec right away :) My children love the pizza and burgers, calamari is a hit as well as the caesar salad. My personal fav is the Asian short ribs, and dessert hands down is the creme brulee. All around great place to eat everytime. Highly recommended!!

jackie o - TripAdvisor - 5 September 2011
“amazing building, patio & food!!!”

"Great selection of BC wines to compliment the amazing food! The patio is one of the only in Golden to get sun all day and it overlooks the Kicking Horse river with views of the mountain ranges! Great service and meal! Would highly recommend to anyone!!"

BushBeast - TripAdvisor - 1 September 2011
“A nice place to eat in Golden”

Restaurant was suggested to us by the owner of our B&B. Nice atmosfeer with sufficient space. We ate inside. The spring roles were a nice starter, followed by the dish of the day (pork) as main course and espresso as dessert. A place we would advice to friends.

KarmaGeddon- Trip Advisor - September 2011
“Unexpectedly good”
This was one of the few restaurants in Golden that I hadn't tried (because of a bad rumour), but it was a fantastic experience! A log structure with a nicely done interior, with good service and a family-friendly policy. The food was nearly as good as Kicking Horse Grill or Cedar House, at a slightly more reasonable price.


OSfromSask - Stockholm - TripAdvisor - 30 August 2011
“Amazing place to eat!”
"Our group of 10 dined on the patio with an amazing view of the mountains. The incredible food complimented this very beautiful view. The servers were welcoming and warm which lead to a very comfortable atmosphere. We would definitely dine at this restaurant again and recommend it to anyone."

Veronica M - Francavilla di Sicilia, Italy - TripAdvisor - 30 August 2011

“FRIENDLY SERVICE AND GREAT DESSERT!”
"My husband and I stopped in after a long bike ride and we're greeted by smiley staff who provided bottomless beverages! The patio is right on the kicking horse river, which is a really pleasant spot to sit on a sunny day. Food was excellent and I especially loved the dessert, a berry pie :) After trying out a few spots in town, we'd definitely choose this patio & food over any other place in Golden."

ScootsGMB TripAdvisor - 28 August 2011

"This place is fantastic! The Log building creates a really nice atmosphere. The patio is definitely their gem with views of the Rockies Mtns, Purcell Mtns and the Kicking Horse River. You can watch the rafters tours paddle by. The servers are always very friendly and helpful, with lots of local tips for visitors. Now the food. It is great, from serving everything from breakfast to dinner they make everything in house any it shows that time and care goes into each plate."


stevestone - Trimingham - TripAdvisor5 of 5 stars - 27 August 2011
“An unexpected pleasure.”

"My wife, son and I were staying at the municipal RV campground and we wanted to dine somewhere that we could walk to. Golden has a couple of pubs but the Canadian pubs do not seem to admit children. Forlorn we were making our way back to camp ground when we passed by The Island. The menu suited as did the prices. Inside, upstairs was a warm inviting wood log style, with a friendly welcome. My wife started off with a Marguerita the size of a fish bowl and I had a local bottled dark ale. The lad was introduced to root beer. The lad and I went for burgers, which were tasty, ample well presented, The wife went for a veggie burger and we all commented on how excellent the food was. We had puddings too! This was an unexpected little gem."

ValerieR_23 - TripAdvisor - 24 August 2011

“Excellent”
"We enjoyed an evening meal - delicioius lamb. The service was excellent and the server was friendly and helpful."

t_bennet - Calgary, TripAdvisor - 23 August 2011
“B E A U,tiful patio!”
"a favorit restaurant of mine, especially in the summer. there patio over looks the kicking horse river, with a great view of the mountains in the back ground. The beer is always cold, and the staff friendly (with good knowledge of the local area). There menu is broad and keeps me trying new things every time I visit.
I would suggest this place to anyone looking for a great dinning expearience, as well as picking up a few tips about vacationing in the golden area!"


"Amazing food + service!!"
- Urbanspoon - wino August 23, 2011 - Likes it

"We sat on the beautiful patio overlooking the Kicking Horse river and had the most wonderful experience. The food was delicious.. house made spring rolls, braised asian short ribs that were so tender, brome lake duck and a wonderful bumbleberry dessert! The wine list had a wonderful selection of BC vineyards and the service was exceptional!"

RMcFamily
- TripAdvisor - 20-Aug-2011
“We have to go back Kate!"
"We have eaten at this restaurant 4 times now and each time has been great. It's worth the few minutes detour off the main highway to get there. Excellent porch and patio right beside the river. We each had a chiabatto club which had real turkey fresh buns and crispy bacon. Loved it! Must go back."

"Terrific food and service" - Urbanspoon - travelgirl741 - August 19, 2011 - Likes it
"We always have the best time at the island - the servers will go out of their way to go the extra mile. They don't make you feel bad for requesting substitutions like some restaurants do. The food is amazing, there are so many delicious items on the menu that it keeps us coming back to try them all! Oh and the building is amazing, a log building with a great patio overlooking the river."

Bryan C - Calgary, AB Foursquare August 6, 2010

Try the bumbleberry ravioli dessert. Highly recommended.


Munlaw2 - TripAdvisor - 1-Aug-2011
“Great find. My reward for leaving the long weekend traffic jam on HWY 1!”
"Seeing what the Germans call a 'stau' worming its way east up the hill from Golden, a moment of clarity sent me into the heart of the older part of Golden. Crossing the Kicking Horse river, I stumbled upon 'The Island' (a restaurant and not the Ewan McGregor / Scarlett Johansen movie). A relatively tranquil location, despite the adjacent thoroughfare. The upper outdoor deck was full, so the riverside patio was my option. The food was well prepared and flavourful. I started with a half dozen oysters, followed by a black pepper linguine. Both items were on the specials list. A tall bottle of Mt. Begbie dark ale washed it down. My server was cheerful and attentive. The only negative were some pesky mosquitoes and, when advised of their irksomeness, my server promptly lit a repellant candle. Recommended summer or winter. "
 
Cynthia F. Vancouver, BC, yelp.ca - July 20, 2011
An inviting new log restaurant in the downtown area, at the intersection of the  river, and  the road to the municipal campground and outdoor pool.We were welcomed upon arrival by a cheerful young lady, and it was a bonus that she then became our server.  I think her name was Jocelyn. She always had a smile on her face which speaks volumes.

Hubby had the Black Pepper Fettucini with Chicken for $16. It was the right portion, good flavors spiced nicely. One son had a $16 Steak Sandwich which was dry; the other son had a $12 Island Burger which he said sufficed. He also had a fish chowder soup which was somewhat gluey-ish but otherwise had pleasant flavours.

The menu offered bumbleberry perogies for dessert which sounded yummy and different. Next time, because we will return.

Adam B. Saskatoon, SK Foursquare  July 17, 2011

I get the Aussie Burger every time!


Janet ‎ - GoogleMaps - 22 Jun 2011
"My favourite restaurant in Golden. Great food and wine, very relaxing place."

Liked: Food, Service, Atmosphere, Value


Deane ‎ - GoogleMaps - 8 Jun 2011
"We booked The Island for a 5 hour business meeting. They provided the entire upstairs and it was so private and spacious! The service was amazing. They disappeared when we needed privacy and appeared when we needed them. The patio was a very nice during breaks. The snacks were fresh and wonderful, the dinner and wine following was out of this world. "

Rubae & Veerle, Belgium - April 2011
"We ran into this place by coincidence, and it was a nice surprise.  Thank you for your warm welcome and the great meal at the restaurant...."

Pat, Whitehorse, Yukon - April 2011
"Tell Aaron I miss his cooking.  He has spoiled me for all the restaurants in Whitehorse."

Robert - March 2011
"What a wonderful little place.  If you have not stumbled upon the Island Restaurant then you should.  The Sushi was fantastic and the whole experience was amazing."

George Koch - Ski Canada Magazine - Winter 2011 edition
"One evening, photographer Henry Georgi, Colorado pro skier Sven Brunso and I had a phenomenal dinner at The Island, a new restaurant in a log building beside the Kicking Horse River."

Pat & Jim, Mark Lake, Yukon - December 2010
"The Island was the best food I've ever tasted.  Aaron and Petra were very welcoming and we had many good meals there."

ZenAltitude - Trip Advisor - 6 November 2010

“Charming dining in the heart of Golden BC”

 

"This relatively new restaurant is located in a gorgeous log cabin structure on the small island adjacent to the bridge into and out-of town. The owner is a charming Australian woman and her husband (who grew up in town) works the kitchen with great skill. The staff is remarkably personable and attentive. My wife and I loved their inspired specials and returned several times to repeat the experience (I picked it for my birthday dinner). We dined on the upper deck outdoor seating area on a perfect fall afternoon and were completely won over. We will be returning here often!"

 

"The location has main floor, second floor and outdoor patio seating. The good selection of food will satisfy everyone. The decor offers a warm and laid back feel that is perfect when on vacation. The pakoras were addictive and the soup of the day was full of flavour.
The island special pizza with goat cheese and prosciutto was one of the best pizza's I have ever had. The service was good and small town friendly."


Doug & Annette, Sudbury, Ontario - September 2010

"... great food in the restaurant"

 

 

Reservations are recommended

Please call us at:
(250) 344-2400